As Facebook evolved and grew beyond a network for sharing private images, videos, posts, and thoughts, many people decided to gradually walk away from the app.
However, some users are still keeping their Facebook profiles, because the Messenger app is the only way to stay in contact with some people without the need for their phone numbers.
But Messenger can be used without a Facebook profile, and in this post, we will explain how to deactivate your Facebook account and keep the ability to talk to your Facebook friends through Messenger.
First things first.
In order to use the Facebook messenger app, you need to have a Facebook account.
Meaning that the only way to use this social media messenger app without using Facebook is by creating an account and then deactivating the same Facebook account.
If you already have a Facebook account, follow these steps to deactivate the account:
By following these steps, you can continue using the Messenger app even after you deactivate your Facebook account.
👉 Also read: How to Deactivate Facebook on iPhone
Many users are wondering if they can continue using the Messenger app if they permanently delete their Facebook accounts.
And the answer is no.
Unfortunately, there is no way anyone can use Messenger without a Facebook account.
The social network deletes everything, including your chat history and Facebook friends list therefore, you will lose access to the Messenger app after you delete your Facebook account.
If you have already deleted your Facebook account, the only way to use the Messenger app again is to create a new account.
In case you have given up on Facebook completely, there are many messaging apps that offer safe communication with their end-to-end encryption.
You can also select the option of not reactivating your Facebook account automatically, as an alternative workaround, as mentioned above. This way, your Facebook account will remain inactive until you decide to reactivate it again.
You might also find these articles interesting: