How to See Who Screenshotted Your Snapchat Story

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Emilija Social Media / Snapchat

5 min read

Snapchat is all about privacy and transparency. The disappearing snaps and stories are some of the features that users truly value about Snapchat.

However, Snapchat is a social media app after all, and other users have access to what you post, they can easily take a screenshot of your snaps or stories before they disappear.

To increase the privacy of its users, Snapchat notifies you when someone takes a screenshot of your story or chat.

You can easily see if someone screenshots your chat if you go to chats and see ‘Screenshot’ under their username.

But, what about stories - can you see people that make a screenshot of your story? Keep reading to find out how to see who screenshot your Snapchat story.

How to see who screenshotted your Snapchat story

Fortunately, Snapchat has made it also easy to know who screenshots your Snapchat story. Follow the steps below.

  1. Open the Snapchat app and swipe to the left to access the Stories screen.
  2. Tap on the three dots in the top-right corner next to your Story to see the snaps in it.
  3. Next to each snap, you’ll see a purple eyeball icon and a number - this is how many people have viewed your shot.
  4. If someone has taken a screenshot of your story, there will be a green arrow next to the snap and a number next to the green arrow showing how many screenshots have been taken.

Green arrow next to the story someone took a screenshot of

  1. Tap on an individual snap in your Story and swipe up to see all the people who have viewed your story.
  2. The people who have taken a screenshot will have their names highlighted in green and there will be a green arrow next to their names.

People who have screenshotted your story will be highlighted in green and have a green arrow next to their name

Note: You can only see how many people have viewed your story and how many have taken a screenshot while your story is live. Once it disappears, you can no longer see this information.

If you don’t want just anyone seeing and taking screenshots of your stories, you can create a private or custom story on Snapchat.

Limitations to seeing who viewed and screenshotted your Snapchat story

However, there are some limitations on seeing who has viewed and taken a screenshot of your Story. This is because the list of people who have viewed or screenshotted your story generated by Snapchat includes a maximum of 200 users.

Although this limitation doesn’t seem like such an issue, it could be a problem for accounts that have a large number of friends and a lot of engagement because they would only be able to see the first 200 users that have seen your story, not to mention those who have screenshotted it.

Bonus: Does Instagram Notify When You Screen Record a Story 2022?

How to manage who can see and screenshot your Snapchat story

Nevertheless, you can check and manage who has permission to see your stories.

To do this:

  1. Open Snapchat and go to your profile.
  2. Tap on the Settings (gear) icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Scroll down to the Privacy Control section and tap on the ‘View My Story’ option.

Tap on 'View My Story'

  1. Here, you can choose if you want ‘Everyone’ or ‘Friends Only’ to view your story.

Choose ‘Everyone’ or ‘Friends Only’ to view your story

  1. You can also go to the ‘Custom’ option to select specific users who you want to view your story, and take a screenshot for that matter.

Now that you know how to see who screenshotted your Snapchat story, you might be curious to explore also if you can know when someone takes a screenshot of your Instagram DM.

Check this article to find out how to unlock the butterflies lens on Snapchat.