How to Delete Friends on Snapchat [2022]

Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Tanja Social Media / Snapchat

4 min read
Key Takeaways
  1. Open the Snapchat app and log in to your Snapchat account. 
  2. Swipe left to go to your Friends list. 
  3. Long press the name of the friend you want to delete.
  4. Tap on Manage Friendship.
  5. Tap on Remove friend

If you have been using Snapchat for a while, chances are that your Snapchat friends list contains users you don't know or don't use the platform anymore.

So, if you want to declutter your Snapchat list by getting rid of unknown and inactive followers, you have come to the right place.

This article will show you how to delete a Snapchat user you no longer want from your followers' list.

Let’s dive in!

How to remove friends from Snapchat

Method One

  1. Open the Snapchat app and log in to your Snapchat account.
  2. Swipe left to go to your Friends list.

snapchat friends

  1. Long press the name of the friend you want to delete.
  2. Tap on Manage Friendship.

snapchat manage friendship

  1. Tap on Remove friend.

snapchat manage friendship

Method Two

  1. Swipe right to go to the Chat screen.
  2. Tap on a friend's profile icon to open their Profile.
  3. Tap the three dots icon in the top right corner, then tap 'Manage Friendship.'
  4. Tap 'Remove Friend'.

What happens when you delete someone from your Snapchat friends list?

  1. The deleted person doesn’t get notified when you remove the theme from your followers’ list.
  2. If they don’t remove your account from their list, it will still be visible to them.
  3. If your Privacy settings are set to “everyone”, they will be able to send you snaps and messages even after you remove them.
  4. You can still see each other’s public stories, but you won’t be able to see each other's private stories.
  5. Deleted friends won’t be able to view your snap score.
  6. Your profile may appear in the suggested list, and they can re-add you.

Can you mass delete friends on Snapchat?

Unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t have a native feature that allows deleting multiple friends at once.

When users want to delete more people from their friends’ list, they must do it manually.

How to block Snapchat users

Snapchat's block feature is another way of removing someone from your followers' list, but it's far more restrictive since it prevents users from interacting with your profile.

  1. Open the Snapchat app and log in to your Snapchat account.
  2. Swipe left to go to your Friends list.
  3. Tap and hold the name of the friend you want to delete.
  4. Tap on Manage Friendship.
  5. Tap on Block.

What is the difference between blocking and deleting a person from Snapchat?

  • Deleting a person from your list of friends
  1. You and the person you remove from your Snapchat friends’ list will still be able to send each other messages.
  2. The person you remove will still be able to search for your profile and add you as a friend.
  3. You will be able to view each other’s public stories.
  • Blocking a person on Snapchat
  1. The person you’ve blocked will no longer be able to send you messages and snaps.
  2. They won’t be able to search for your profile on Snapchat.
  3. The messages they send won’t be delivered to your inbox and will be shown as pending in theirs.
  4. You won’t be able to view each other's public stories.

Wrapping Up

Snapchat is the pioneer of stories- the feature that took all social media users by storm and was quickly adopted and incorporated by its competitors.

Nevertheless, the platform has been part of our lives for some time now, and many users have been using it since they were teenagers. Due to this, many of us would like to remove multiple people we once added.

The good news is that deleting someone on Snapchat is easy. Follow our guide, and you will be done in no time.