What Does Checkmark Mean in LinkedIn Message?

Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Tijana Social Media / Linkedin

4 min read

Linkedin is a platform where people look for a job, sell products, publish their successes and communicate mostly via messages.

The messages are an integral part of this platform since recruiters, sellers, potential clients, and employees get in touch.

The company invests its efforts into improving the messaging part of the platform; thus, many unknown features come up all the time.

One novelty Linkedin users encounter is the checkmark in the messaging part.

So, if you have seen the checkmark in the Linkedin messages, keep on reading to find out more.

What does checkmark mean in Linkedin messages?

The checkmark in the messaging part in Linkedin messages means ‘read’.

Linkedin gray checkmark

In other words, when a checkmark appears in Linkedin messages, it means that the receiver has read your message.

The read receipt feature is helpful because it reassures you that someone has received your message, and you don’t have to follow up with a new one right away. Recruiters and sellers that use the Sales navigator can benefit from this feature.

So, if you don't get a reply from someone that has opened your message, then it is a good indicator that you have to tailor your messages better".

Many social media if not all, have this feature, and many users gladly use it since it reduces uncertainty in communication.

How does Linkedin read receipt work?

The feature is turned on by default; however, both people who engage in communication need to have the feature turned on.

If one of the parties has turned off this feature, both sides will not be able to see the checkmark in the corner of the communication tab.

In addition to the read receipt, Linkedin has a typing indicator. The read receipts and typing indicator improve the user experience a lot.

Bonus: Have you ever wondered how to delete a skill on your Linkedin or even better, add a volunteer experience? Check our compelling guides, to find out more.

How to turn off LinkedIn read receipt

Although the feature is used by many, it doesn’t necessarily mean that everyone will like it. Some users prefer to keep their privacy and want to turn off the feature.

Luckily, that’s possible, and here are the steps that you need to take.

For desktop

  1. Click on the ‘Me’ profile icon in the upper corner.
  2. Click on ‘Settings and Privacy’.

linkedin settings and privacy option

  1. Click on the ‘Communications’ tab from your left-hand menu.

linkedin communications menu

  1. Scroll down to the ‘Messaging experience’ part, click on ‘change’ next to ‘Read receipts and typing indicators’, and click the toggle button to turn the feature off.

linkedin messaging experience option

For Linkedin App

  1. Tap on your Linkedin profile icon in the top-left corner of the screen.
  2. Tap on ‘Settings’.
  3. Select the ‘Communications’ tab and scroll to the bottom.
  4. Again, you’ll see the ‘Read receipts and typing indicators’ setting; tap on it to turn it off.

Bonus read: How to Remove ‘Open to Work’ on LinkedIn.

Final thoughts

The read receipts and the typing indicator are valuable features that greatly improve the Linkedin user experience.

They are helpful options for recruitment and sales, but they can also be turned off if users don’t feel comfortable with this feature.

FAQs

Does LinkedIn show when you were last active?

No, Linkedin does not show when users were last active. 

What is the Green Dot on LinkedIn?

The green dot on Linkedin means that someone is currently active on the platform. 

Can someone see if I have viewed their LinkedIn?

Linkedin only shows who viewed your profile if the person who views your profile is logged in on the platform.