Ever since Facebook Messenger adopted the vanish mode feature, users are allowed to have end-to-end encrypted chat conversations which will “vanish” as soon as they leave the thread.
So, when using it, they can bulk delete an entire conversation (after the recipient reads their message) once they close the chat.
Important Reminder: The vanish mode feature is only available on the latest, updated version of the FB Messenger app - make sure you have an updated version of it.
If this is something you want to try out, keep on reading.
The same as on Instagram, the vanish mode on FB Messenger works in a way that the messages will disappear after they’ve been seen and after you leave that chat. If you are using your smartphone, just swipe up from the bottom in an existing chat thread, and you are in the vanish mode already, and you swipe up again to get back to your regular chat.
Unfortunately, it is not yet available to anyone using Facebook messenger as it was recently added for Facebook users in the USA.
However, it will soon roll out to other countries, and all you need to do is be patient and wait.
Another Bonus: How to turn off Facebook sounds?
Take these simple steps below to turn off the vanish mode on FB messenger.
When someone is using the vanish mode on FB Messenger, their screen turns black, and several emojis will fall from the top of the screen to indicate that they are in vanish mode.
You will know that someone is using the vanish mode if that person sends you a new vanish mode message while you are in a regular chat conversation. Also, you will receive a notification for you to tap on it to enter the vanish mode conversation with that person.
Just remember that if you are chatting with a user who does not have the vanish mode feature yet, the Vanish Mode will not show up.
Unfortunately, you cannot do that. FB Messenger does not allow you to use the vanish mode on group chats, voice calls, and videos calls.
You might also find these articles interesting: