To delete an account from Messenger:
Messenger doesn’t make it obvious how to remove an account from Messenger. This is especially frustrating if you’ve logged into Messenger on a friend’s phone and now you can’t find the option to remove your account for the life of you.
At the same time, you don’t feel comfortable leaving your Messenger account logged in on your friend’s phone because you want to protect your privacy.
First of all, don’t panic - we’ve all been there. Even though it seems like Messenger doesn’t allow you to log out once you log in on a device, deleting your account from Messenger is possible, and it’s pretty simple.
Below we’ll show you how to remove your account from Messenger on iPhone, Android, and computer.
There is one trick you can use to delete your account from Messenger.
Messenger only allows you to delete an account if there’s at least one other account added on the same device. Also, you cannot remove your account if you are currently signed into it.
So, you need to log into another account on the same device to be able to remove your account from Messenger.
This is the reason why you couldn’t find the option to delete your account previously. So continue reading to find out the steps.
Your account will be removed from Messenger on that device. Don’t worry; you can still sign into your Facebook Messenger account on that device in the future.
Note: If you previously also logged into Facebook, you’ll see a message saying, “This account is also logged into Facebook on this device. You’ll need to log out of this account on Facebook to remove the account.”
This means you first need to log out of Facebook and remove your account from the Account center, and only then will you be able to log out of Messenger.
Explore also how to delete a kids' Messenger account.
The steps for deleting your account for Messenger on iPhone are pretty much the same as for Android, with minor differences.
On the other hand, if you’ve decided you want to be rid of your Messenger account for good, these are the steps to delete or deactivate your Messenger account on Android, iPhone, and computer.
Important: If you want to delete or deactivate your Messenger account, you also need to delete or deactivate your Facebook account.
Note: There’s a difference between deactivating your account and deleting your account.
Deactivating your account is temporary, and you can reactivate it later. If you deactivate your Facebook account, your name and photos will be removed from things you’ve posted, but you’ll still be able to use Messenger.
Deleting your account is permanent. It deletes your account’s content completely as if it never existed. Your Messenger account will also be deleted.
You might also be interested in reading: How to Know if Someone Deleted Messages on Messenger.
You can delete your account from Messenger only if you have at least one more account logged into the same device on Messenger and switch to them. Only then you’ll have the option to swipe left on your account and delete it from Messenger.
Also, you can delete or deactivate your Messenger account if you delete or deactivate your Facebook account. The difference is that deactivating your Facebook account is temporary; you can reactivate it later and use Messenger.
But if you delete your Facebook account, it’s permanent, your account will be removed as if it never existed, and you won’t be able to use Messenger.
No, it’s not possible to deactivate Messenger without deactivating Facebook. The two accounts are tied and function as one.
However, in case you are using a Messenger account after deactivating your Facebook account, here’s how to delete it:
You can only continue using your Messenger account after deactivating it, not deleting your Facebook account.
Here’s how to use your Messenger account after deactivating Facebook: