How to Tell How Someone Added You on Snapchat

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Tanja Social Media / Snapchat

9 min read
Key Takeaways

To see how someone has added you on Snapchat:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on the person/contacts icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Under the ‘Added me’ section, you’ll find all people that have added you.
  4. Under each username, you’ll see the method by which they have added you, for example, By Quick Add, By Mention, By Snapcode, By Phone, etc.

Connecting and adding people is at the core of Snapchat. Therefore, the social media app makes it easy to find and add people.

If someone adds you on Snapchat, you might be curious to know how they’ve found your profile. Read below to learn how to see how someone added you on Snapchat, how adding people works on Snapchat and how to control who can add you.

How does adding on Snapchat work?

Before explaining how to tell how someone added you on Snapchat, first, let’s outline all the ways you can add people.

There are several ways you can add friends on Snapchat.

  1. Use Search to find their username

To add someone on Snap using Search if you know their username or name:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on the search icon at the top-left corner, next to your Bitmoji.

Tap on the search icon

  1. Enter the person’s username or name.
  2. Tap on '+Add' next to their name.

Type in the person's username and tap on '+Add'

  1. Add someone via their phone number

You can also add someone by their phone number if you have them on your contact list.

  1. Open Snapchat and tap on your Bitmoji in the top-left corner.
  2. Tap on 'Add Friends' on your profile.

Tap on 'Add Friends'

  1. Then select 'All Contacts.'

Select 'All Contacts'

  1. Here you’ll see users whose phone numbers you have in your contact list.
  2. Tap on '+Add' next to the person’s username.

Tap on '+Add'

If people on your contact list don’t have a Snapchat account, you can send them an invitation.

  1. Scan their Snapcode

The Snapcode is a unique code presented in an image with yellow background, black dots, and the user’s Bitmoji, found on Snapchat users’ profiles.

To add someone by scanning their Snapcode.

  1. Ask your friend to open their profile and tap on their Snapcode.
  2. Open Snapchat on your phone and place the camera on top of the Snapcode.

Tap on the scan icon

  1. Tap and hold on the Snapcode to scan it.

Scan the Snapcode

  1. In the pop-up window, tap on 'Add Friend.'

tap on 'Add Friend'

  1. Add friends with Quick Add

Quick Add is a friend suggestion feature in Snapchat that recommends people based on people who are already your friends, profiles you subscribe to, etc.

To find and add friends with Quick Add

  1. Open Snapchat and go to your profile.
  2. Tap on ‘Add Friends.’

Tap on ‘Add Friends’

  1. Tap on ‘+Add’ next to each of the suggested accounts you want to add.

Tap on ‘+Add’

  1. Add friends from mentions

You can also add someone who is mentioned in a story you see.

  1. Open the Story that contains the person’s mention.
  2. Swipe up on the Story.
  3. Select ‘+Add.’

Spotify also allows people to share links to their Snapchat accounts. If someone has sent you a link to their profile on another channel, open it on your phone and tap on ‘+ Add Friend’ to add the person as a friend.

 tap on ‘+ Add Friend’

How to see how someone added you on Snapchat

To see how someone has added you on Snapchat:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on the person/contacts icon in the top-right corner.
  3. Under the ‘Added me’ section, you’ll find all people that have added you.
  4. Under each username, you’ll see the method by which they have added you, for example, By Quick Add, By Mention, By Snapcode, By Phone, etc.

Explore why you can’t add people on Snap and how to fix it.

What does it mean when someone adds you on Snapchat, but it doesn’t say how they added you?

You may sometimes notice that the way someone has added you is not specified beneath their username.

There are several reasons why the source of how they added you is missing:

  • The person removed you from friends and re-added you.
  • You have added them at some point in the past, and the person adds you back.
  • They’ve found the profile link you shared to another channel.
  • If your stories are public, someone has sent them your story and the person has added you from there.

Does Snapchat suggest you to users you don’t know?

Yes, Snapchat suggests people that are friends to your current friends or people that friends have added in the Quick Add section.

They are people you might not necessarily know, but Snapchat thinks you might like to add them, considering your mutual friends.

However, Snapchat allows you to turn off the option to appear in other people’s Quick Add.

Here’s how to remove yourself from appearing in Quick Add:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on your Bitmoji in the top-left corner.
  3. Tap on the ‘Settings’ (gear) icon in the top-right corner.
  4. Scroll to the Privacy Control section and tap on ‘See Me in Quick Add.’
  5. Uncheck the box next to ‘Show me in Quick Add.’

This way, you won’t appear in other users’ Quick Add, but Snapchat will still suggest people you can add via Quick Add.

How to control who can add you on Snapchat

Snapchat is all about its users' privacy. Apart from allowing you to control if you want to appear in other people’s Quick Add, Snapchat also offers you to choose who can find and add you.

To adjust who can add you on Snapchat, you need to access the ‘Contact Me’ option:

  1. Open Snapchat.
  2. Tap on your Bitmoji in the top-left corner.
  3. Tap on the ‘Settings’ (gear) icon in the top-right corner.
  4. Find the Privacy Control section and select ‘Contact Me.’
  5. Select ‘Friends’ and tap on ‘Okay.’

Additionally, you can control whether you want users to find you by your phone number and email address.

To disable people finding you by your phone:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap on ‘Mobile Number.’
  3. Uncheck the box next to ‘Let others find me using my mobile number.’

To disable people finding you by your email:

  1. Go to Settings.
  2. Tap on ‘Email.’
  3. Uncheck the box next to ‘Let others find me using my email address.’

Conclusion

There are several ways someone can add you on Snapchat. They can use Search to find you by your username, add you by your phone number, scan your Snapcode, add you via mentions in someone’s story or use your profile link.

You can tell how someone has added you if you open Snapchat > tap on the person/contacts icon > under the ‘Added me’ section; you’ll see all people that have added you. Below each username, you’ll see how they’ve added you, e.g., By Quick Add, By Mention, By Snapcode, By Phone, etc.