How to Merge Pinterest Boards [2022 Tutorial]

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Emilija Social Media / Pinterest

7 min read

If you're like most people, you probably have more than one Pinterest board. Maybe you have a board for your favorite recipes, another for home decor inspiration, and yet another for travel destinations.

But what if you want to consolidate your boards? Whether you're cleaning up your account or just trying to streamline your content, merging two Pinterest boards is a fairly easy process.

This tutorial will show you what happens when you merge boards and how to merge Pinterest boards in just a few steps.

What happens when you merge Pinterest boards

When you merge boards on Pinterest, you are actually combining the boards and all the content in them into one board.

This means that:

  • The board being merged will become a section of the board it is being merged into.
  • The original board that you merged won’t exist as a separate board on your profile.

How to merge boards on Pinterest

Follow the steps below to merge boards on Pinterest.

  1. Choose the boards you want to merge

Keep in mind that you can only merge two boards at a time. So first, decide which boards you will merge. Also, consider which of them will be the ‘parent board’ and which board will become the board section.

  1. Select the ‘Merge’ option on the board you want to merge into another

    1. Tap or click the board you want to merge.
    2. Then, click or tap on the three dots in the top-right corner of the screen in the Pinterest app or next to the board title on a desktop.

Click on the three dots

    1. In the drop-down menu, select ‘Merge’.

Select 'Merge'

  1. Select the board into which you want to merge the original board

When you click or tap on the ‘Merge’ option, a list of all your boards should appear.

Choose the board - the ‘parent board’ - that you want to merge your board into.

Note: This board will contain a board section of the current board that you are moving.

You’ll see a pop-up message informing you what will happen after you merge the boards. Click or tap on ‘Merge’ to proceed.

Now, you’ve merged the two boards. The original board you merged will appear as a section on the other board.

Explore also how to delete a board on Pinterest.

Benefits of merging two boards on Pinterest

The main benefit of merging Pinterest boards is that it helps to organize your boards. For example, if you have multiple boards covering similar topics, you might consider merging them into one board.

This will streamline your Pinterest presence and make it easier for users to find the content they're looking for.

Things to have in mind before merging two boards

There are several things you need to consider before you divide to merge boards:

  • The followers of the merged board will not transfer to the new board when you merge one board into another.
  • When you merge a secret board with a public board, the privacy settings of the destination board will apply.
  • You can’t unmerge two boards. If you want to undo it, you’ll need to create a new board or section and move the Pins there individually.
  • If you have a business Pinterest account, check to see which boards are well-performing before you merge them. You can do it in Analytics > Overview > Scroll down to “Top Boards” > Hover over the boards to see their stats.

Tip: If the boards you want to merge are well-performing, it’s best that you don’t do it in order to avoid any negative impact on their performance.

Do you have to merge two boards if you want to move pins from one board to another?

The answer is no. You can move pins from one board to another without merging them.

If you are a bit doubtful about merging boards, this can be a good alternative to move around content on Pinterest.

Also, you can transfer pins to different boards individually or in bulk (several pins at once). Follow the steps below:

  1. Click or tap on the Pinterest board containing the pins that you would like to move.
  2. In the board, click or tap on the ‘Organize’ button.

Click on the 'Organize' button

  1. Now, select the pins that you want to move to another board. If you want to move all the pins, click or tap on ‘Select all’.
  2. After selecting the pins, you want to move, click or tap on the ‘move’ icon, which is a right-pointing arrow on the web and two arrows pointing in different directions on the app.

Click on the 'move' icon

  1. Then, select the board that you want to transfer the pins to.

Check out also how to delete a pin.

There’s an alternative way to move pins individually to another board:

  1. Click or tap on the pin you want to move.
  2. Then, select the three dots in the top-right corner in the app or next to the pin in the web version.
  3. In the pop-up menu, select the ‘Edit Pin’ option.

Click on 'Edit Pin'

  1. Click or tap on the board the pin is currently pinned to, next to where it says ‘Board’.

Click on the current board

  1. A list with all your boards will appear. Select the board which you want to move the pin to.
  2. Finally, click or tap on ‘Save’.

The selected pin will be moved to the new board.