Facebook has a few options that enable its users to limit the exposure of some of the data they have on their Facebook accounts. Unlike Instagram, where private accounts only show someone’s profile image, Facebook offers a plethora of options that allow users to have greater control over the privacy of their accounts.
That being said, users can decide if they want their profiles to be discoverable by search engines outside of Facebook, whether they want their posts to be visible to users outside their friends' list, and who can see their Facebook friends list.
As mentioned earlier, the social media network features an option for limiting the audience of your posts. Meaning that users can choose whether they like their posts to be seen by users that are not their Facebook friends, or whether their posts will be available for exclusive people only - their FB friends.
Here is how to enable that function:
This will limit your post visibility to only your Facebook friends. You can also limit the audience for posts you’ve shared with friends and the pages, people, and lists you follow.
You might also like to learn: How to remove Facebook followers.
If you have ever attached your place of education, workplace, or other personal information to your personal Facebook profile, and then changed your mind, don’t worry, Facebook has an option for hiding that information too.
If you don’t want Google to list your Facebook profile when someone (or maybe yourself) is googling your name, then there is a solution for that too. Facebook allows users to control whether their Facebook profiles will be linked to search engines outside of the social media platform.
To enable this function:
Under this section, users can control who can see their friends list, who can look them up by the phone number and email address they have provided.
Another step you can take in order to make your Facebook profile as private as possible is to use the option for limiting who can send you friend requests.
The tech giant has an option that allows users to see their profiles through other “people’s eyes”.
To see how your Facebook profile looks to others and what they can see when they land on your Facebook page you should use the “View as” function”.
Go to your profile and click on the three dots under your cover image
Now you can see what Facebook users that are not your Facebook friends can see when they open your profile.
Explore further how to use Facebook Professional Mode on a personal profile.