There’s been plenty of gossip regarding how safe our devices are, and who has access to our cameras and microphones, and the memes about our designated FBI agents are surely not helping! What most users don’t know though, cameras on MacBooks can be easily completely turned off, or you can restrict the access apps have to your camera.
Also, check out how to lock your photos on your Macbook, especially if your iPhone is synced with your Mac computer.
Restricting access or denying access to the camera on your Mac can be done in a few clicks.
After you’ve denied access to a certain app, this does not mean that it completely disables the camera forever. Next time you launch the app, and let’s say you need to use your FaceTime camera, the app will once again ask permission to start using the camera while you’re in the app. However, if you once again give access to the app, you will need to make the changes from the System Preferences Security like you did before.
You might also like: How to Make Folder Icon Transparent
Yes, if you’re still feeling worried about your safety and privacy, you can install a third-party app named OverSight. This app will send out notifications each time an app on your Mac tries to use your built-in camera or microphone. It monitors your system constantly, so if anything suspicious happens, you’ll be notified about it.
After you’ve downloaded it, it will show up in your menu bar with an umbrella icon. After you click on it, you will be given a list of running apps that are accessing or trying to access your built-in webcam.
If none of the above-mentioned solutions are working for you, you can always go for the old-school tape-covering of your camera and microphone, after all, if Mark Zuckerberg can do it, why can’t you? Just be cautious, this can damage the camera lens or your laptop.
We also have an article about How to Pause Facetime on iPhone and Mac, so you can check that out as well.