How to Turn Off Memories on Facebook

Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Ivana Social Media / Facebook

5 min read

The Facebook Memories feature reminds you of old photos, places, and life events you've attended over the years.

This feature was introduced by Facebook in 2015, and since then you can find memories of yourself and those you've tagged.

And while it's nice to remember all the interesting times you've had, sometimes Facebook memories can be a bit intrusive and disruptive.

Every day or even every few hours, getting a Facebook notification can be a distraction, so many users are searching for a way to disable them.

Users have the option to turn off Facebook memories, and there are also additional options that allow them to choose how often they want to be notified about past posts. Additionally, if you don’t want Facebook to show you memories from specific people or dates, you can disable that function too.

Keep reading to find out how to turn off notifications from memories on Facebook.

How to turn off Facebook memories

Here is how you can turn off Facebook memories from a desktop.

  1. Tap in the menu in the upper right corner.
  2. From the left-side, scroll down to the ‘Personal section’ and select ‘Memories’.

facebook menu desktop

  1. From the left-hand menu, there are a few options you can select, ‘Notification’, ‘Hide people’, and ‘Hide dates’.

Facebook memories menu

  1. Select ‘Notification’ to turn off memory notifications.

If you want Facebook to send you notifications once a day, choose ‘All memories’; to receive notifications about special videos or collections select ‘Highlights’ and to block memories completely select ‘None’.

Facebook notification options

Here is how you can turn off Facebook memories from a mobile device.

  1. Tap on the hamburger menu.
  2. Tap ‘Memories’.

Facebook hamburger menu

  1. Tap the 'Gear button’ in the upper right corner.

facebook gear option

  1. Tap on ‘None’ to block all memories.

facebook memories settings

Bonus: Learn also how to remove check-ins on Facebook.

How to hide memories of specific people

Facebook memories are not always pleasant, so users can also disable Facebook memories from specific people.

Here is how to hide Facebook memories from specific people from a desktop.

  1. Tap in the menu in the upper right corner.
  2. From the left-side, scroll down to the ‘Personal section’ and select ‘Memories’.
  3. From the left-hand menu, there are a few options you can select, ‘Notification’, ‘Hide people’, and ‘Hide dates’.
  4. Select ‘Hide people’ to turn off memory notifications from specific people.
  5. Type in a name in the empty field and click ‘Save’.

Hide memories from specific people on facebook

Here is how to hide Facebook memories from specific people from a mobile device.

  1. Tap on the hamburger menu.
  2. Tap ‘Memories’.
  3. ap the 'Gear button’ in the upper right corner.
  4. Tap on ‘People’ and type in a name.

How to hide Facebook memories by date

The social network allows you to set a date range from which you don't want to receive memories.

All you have to do is choose ‘Hide dates’ from the notification settings and set a date range.

Here is how you can turn off Facebook memories from a desktop.

  1. Tap in the menu in the upper right corner.
  2. From the left-side, scroll down to the ‘Personal section’ and select ‘Memories’.
  3. From the left-hand menu, there are a few options you can select, ‘Notification’, ‘Hide people’, and ‘Hide dates’.
  4. Select ‘Hide dates’ to turn off memory notifications.
  5. Click ‘Add New Date Range’.
  6. Choose a ‘Start date’ and ‘End date’ and click ‘Save’.

hide memories on facebook from specific dates

Here is how to hide Facebook memories from specific people from a mobile device.

  1. Tap on the hamburger menu.
  2. Tap ‘Memories’.
  3. Tap the 'Gear button’ in the upper right corner.
  4. Tap on ‘Dates’ and type in a name.
  5. Choose a ‘Start date’ and ‘End date’ and click ‘Save’.

Did you know that Facebook saves all your posts? Check out how to find old Facebook posts from years ago.