How to Hide 'Last Seen' on WhatsApp

Written by Tijana - Reviewed by Ivana Messaging / Whatsapp

3 min read

WhatsApp is currently among the leading messenger platforms out there. Having to respond to messages only because the platform allows users to see at what point you’ve been active, or that you’ve read their message can sometimes feel tiring.

If you’re a busy person, and wish to keep your privacy regarding the ‘last seen’ feature, or the blue double check mark that you’ve read their message, WhatsApp offers a solution for these sorts of issues.

Can I hide when I’ve been last active?

Yes, you can. The platform offers WhatsApp users an option to hide their online status, as well as the read receipts. This can be easily done in a few short steps.

If you are using Viber for messaging, read how to hide, unhide, and see hidden messages on Viber.

Hiding the ‘Last Seen’ feature on an Android device

If you’re an Android user, follow these steps to hide your ‘last seen’ status:

  1. Open the app, and click on the three vertical dots in the top right corner.
  2. Navigate to the ‘Settings’ section, and click on ‘Account’.
  3. Click on ‘Privacy’ on the new page that has opened.
  4. On the top of the screen, you should see the option ‘Last Seen’, click on it.
  5. You will be given several options to choose from based on your needs: hiding the activity status from everyone, your WhatsApp contacts only, or nobody.

After selecting one of the above-mentioned options, your changes will update immediately.

Hiding the ‘Last Seen’ feature on an iPhone

If you’re an iPhone user, follow these steps to change your online status on WhatsApp:

  1. Launch WhatsApp, open ‘Settings’ by clicking on the icon in the lower right corner.
  2. Navigate to ‘Account’.
  3. In the new page, tap on ‘Privacy’.
  4. Look for the ‘Last Seen feature’ and tap on it.
  5. The following step is the same as for Android users, you will be given several options to choose from based on your needs: hiding the activity status from everyone, your WhatsApp contacts only, or nobody.

After you’ve selected one of the three given options, the changes for your WhatsApp account will be made immediately.

If you’ve chosen the ‘Nobody’ option on WhatsApp, you will not be able to see when others were last seen as well.

Hiding the ‘Last Seen’ feature from Desktop

If you’re using WhatsApp from your laptop, you can make these changes directly on your laptop as well. The desktop WhatsApp version, unfortunately, does not have an option to hide your activity status directly in the app, but there is a way around this problem anyhow!

  1. On your Google Chrome browser, look up the WAI Incognito Extension.
  2. Install the extension, and look for it in the upper right corner of the browser.
  3. Another version of WhatsApp will open - WhatsApp Web, and here you’ll be able to turn off your activity status for all your contacts.