Ever since iOS 11.4 was introduced, iPhone users have had the option to save messages in iCloud storage in case they wanted to save them as a backup or to free up some space on their devices.
However, Apple’s cloud storage is limited, so many users must clear some space if they want to back up more important files.
For most users, the optimal solution for freeing up space in iCloud is the deletion of conversations and SMS that are old and irrelevant.
To learn how to delete messages from iCloud Storage, keep on reading, as this article covers everything you need to know.
Before we jump into deleting messages from iCloud, it is important to note that this action will delete the messages from all devices that are synced with the same iCloud account.
Meaning that if you delete a text, attachment, or image from iCloud on one device, it will be deleted from all the other devices as well.
However, as previously mentioned, this will free up some space in the iCloud storage but will keep the rest of the conversations up to date.
Also, when you delete text messages from iCloud, you cannot bring them back, meaning that this action will permanently delete them.
In case you don’t want your message history to be stored in iCloud, then you can easily turn off the messages in the iCloud feature.
Here is how to do it:
Learn also how to back up and download messages from iCloud.
Once you delete a message from iCloud, it will be deleted from all the devices that have been synced with the same iCloud account.
No, you can’t read or view the messages and attachments from your iCloud account.
If you have permanently deleted your messages, you won’t be able to bring them back.
You might also find these articles interesting: