Reddit had an amazing number of downloads, and the platform is counting a shocking number of 430 million monthly users.
Since the app’s popularity has not decreased through the course of the years, it’s only logical for the platform to pay attention to helping users divide their virtual communities by classifying them into subreddits.
Since Reddit is quite unique, and there aren’t too many similar platforms such as this one, the number of Subreddits on the app is enormous.
However, some Subreddits can start getting out of context, or the topic that is being discussed might not be serving the public anymore, therefore pops up the main question, can Subreddits be deleted?
Unfortunately, once a Subreddit (/r/) is created, it will stay on the platform. You, as an administrator or creator cannot delete it. However, there are actions you can take which might help get close to deleting it.
As we mentioned, deleting a Subreddit can’t be done, but what will help you to stop seeing any information related to that specific Subreddit is removing yourself from there.
To do so, follow these steps:
Note: Removing yourself from a community does not delete it, it will stay active. Bear in mind that leaving a Subreddit will still have you listed as a creator even after leaving, the only way to remove your username from the Subreddit, is by deleting your Reddit account.
To remove yourself from a Subreddit, follow these steps:
Note: After removing yourself from a Subreddit, you might still see recommendations from it. To completely stop seeing a Subreddit, you can block it.
Unfortunately, this feature is currently available for Premium users only. However, if you do have a Premium subscription to Reddit, any time you see a recommendation, or a post from the Subreddit, click on the ‘Block’ button, and you will no longer see any posts related to that particular Reddit.
You might also find these articles interesting: