My eyes only is a feature in the Snapchat app that allows users to put a password to specific snaps in order to keep them extra private. This means that snaps moved to ‘My eyes only’ file can be viewed only after users enter a correct 4-digit passcode.
Despite the fact that this option protects some of your Snaps from being viewed by others, it's also important to note that the Snapchat support team cannot help you retrieve your password in case you lose it.
In addition, as with other passwords, this one can be changed too, so to learn how to keep reading on.
Bonus: You might also want to learn how to change your Snapchat username.
In order to change your Snapchat passcode, you must know the one you are currently using. If you change your passcode, nothing will be deleted from My Eyes Only.
Note: Changing your passcode is different from resetting your forgotten passcode.
Here is the step-by-step for changing My eyes only passcode.
Alternatively, you can set a passphrase consisting of letters and numbers, just tap on ‘Use Passphrase' on the bottom of the screen.
In case you forgot your current passcode the only option left is to reset the old one.
However, resetting your password will delete all the Snaps you are keeping on the app.
Bonus: Learn the meaning of the yellow heart in Snapchat.
My eyes only is an option that users can enable to protect specific Snaps. The Snaps are saved in a private gallery that can only be accessed with a 4-digit password.
This way, users can restrict other users that have access to their profiles from viewing particular Snaps.
Users can only change the password if they know the current passcode; otherwise, they won't be able to do so.
If they have forgotten the passcode, they can only reset it which will delete all the saved Snaps.
Snapchat hasn’t integrated an option that allows users to save images from their camera roll. For now, users can save images to My eyes only that were sent to them as Snaps on the app.
My eyes only is a great safety feature that adds an extra layer of privacy to Snaps that people want to keep extra private.
The only downside is changing the passcode, which can be done if users know their current one, or by resetting it, which permanently deletes all the saved photos in the gallery.
You might also find these articles interesting: