Instagram has played a significant part in our lives for more than a decade.
During this time, the platform has evolved beyond anyone's expectations and now offers a wide variety of features that even its most devoted users sometimes find challenging to understand.
A feature that has confused many Instagrammers is the green circle that appears around Instagram stories.
Namely, the feature was incorporated back in 2018, and it means that someone has added you to their list of close friends.
Although Instagram's "Close Friends" feature is not new, many users fail to notice it until they have been added to someone's list of close friends.
To better understand the feature, keep reading as we explain everything you need to know in the article below.
A green circle on someone’s Instagram story means they have added you to their list of close friends on their Instagram profile.
The feature was rolled out back in 2018 so users can share their stories only with an ‘exclusive’ group of people of their own choosing.
Users can manually choose with whom they want to share their stories, meaning that only the selected accounts will be able to see their stories. As for now, the feature is only limited to Instagram stories.
On the other hand, users can’t remove themselves from someone else’s close friends list.
The feature comes in handy for users that want to keep their stories private and share them with their closest friends. Additionally, the "Close friends" feature is more convenient than muting or creating a fake Instagram account for privacy reasons.
✅ Also read: How to Save Instagram Photos Without Posting
There are five different colors on Instagram stories, each indicating a different meaning.
Here is what each of the colors mean:
The color of your Instagram story can vary depending on the type of sticker you've added. You will not be able to use these stickers after the month has ended, as they are for a limited time only.
The green circle on an Instagram story means that someone has added you to their close friend's list, and sadly there isn’t a built-in feature that can enable users to erase themselves from someone else’s list.
However, a few workarounds can help you remove yourself from someone’s close friends list.
The green circle on Instagram means that you have been added to someone’s close friend's list.
Users can manually choose the people they want to be part of their friend's list and later remove them if they want to.
When sharing stories with close friends, users that are not on the close friends' list won’t be able to see your stories.
You might also find these articles interesting: