Users of Facebook Messenger can choose to ignore someone's messages, so they will not receive messages or notifications from that person.
Messages that are ignored will instead go into another inbox. Also, the person who is being ignored won't be notified that they are being ignored.
If, however, you change your mind later, you can unignore someone’s messages.
By unignoring someone’s messages you will start receiving their messages again.
The process of unignoring someone on Facebook is pretty-straight forward, however, this blog post will show you how to find the option easily.
Note: you may encounter other spam messages in the ‘Message request’ menu. If a conversion is ignored, you will see a bell icon that indicates that it was ignored.
If you are using the web version of Messenger, here are the steps to unignore someone’s messages.
Explore what the “This person is unavailable on messenger” notification may mean.
As we saw in the previous example, unignoring someone on Messenger requires sending them a message.
However, if you want to unignore someone without replying, you can do so by installing Messenger Lite.
Unlike the regular version, Messenger Lite allows unignoring someone without actually sending them a message.
The downside is that the app is available for Android users, and iPhone users only in Turkey.
Here is how to do it:
Bonus: Learn how to unblock someone on Messenger as well.
Ignoring a message simply means that you won't receive notifications from that person.
The messages are automatically removed in the ‘Message request’ menu meaning that they won’t be visible once you open your chat list.
The person who is being ignored won’t receive notification that their messages are being ignored.
The feature is pretty handy if you don’t want to remove someone from your Facebook friend list, or you don’t want to block them.
Yes, people can still send you messages even though they are being ignored. Their messages will arrive in the ‘Message request’. To find them you need to open the spam list as it is explained above.
This also means that you can still read their messages.
Yes, you can delete ignored conversations. Depending on the OS users need to use different features. For iOS, users need to swipe left and tap on the bin icon.
Users who are ignored can still follow you, send you messages, see your profile, tag you in images and interact with you everywhere except in Messenger.
Blocked users on the other hand can’t see you follow, send you messages, tag you or interact with you in any way. You can’t view their Facebook profile or activities either.
The blocking feature is far more restrictive than the ignoring feature and it is used when you don’t want to have any contact with a specific user.