How to Lock a Role on Discord

Written by Tijana - Reviewed by Tanja Messaging / Discord

4 min read

If you ever wondered why the roles you assigned on Discord are getting changed, and how you can stop this from happening, you’re in the right place.

Fortunately, assigned Discord roles can be locked, and you can even be the only one with management rights on a server or channel.

Discord’s server roles function as rankings, and this option comes in really handy, especially if you’re trying to moderate a group for school or work.

Additionally, listing users with certain roles helps the others who have joined the server when they’re wondering whom to contact when they have questions or issues.

Therefore, having assigned role management is a major plus in the organization of a server, even if we’re talking about low-ranking roles.

Additionally, after giving other users permissions, they may cause issues such as changing the roles you’ve assigned them. Hence, the optimal solution to this problem is locking the roles on your server, and you being the only one with the access to change them.

If you were wondering whether you can lock a role on Discord as a server owner - you can. Keep reading to see the step-by-step guide on locking roles on Discord.

How do I lock a role on Discord?

Once a server has been created, the server owner is the only one who can create roles, assign them and manage them. However, this option can be changed, meaning you can intentionally or unintentionally allow other members of the server to make and adjust changes.

Consequently, other users will be able to manage roles, change them, and even delete roles that are ranked lower than theirs.

If you noticed similar activity in your Discord server, follow these steps to lock roles and stop other members from making any further changes:

From the Desktop app or Web Browser

  1. Launch the Discord app, or open the Discord website on your computer, and log in using your credentials.
  2. Open the server you wish to make changes to. The list of servers is located on the left side of the screen.
  3. On the name of the server, or the server icon, right-click and hover the pointer to ‘Server Settings’ and select ‘Roles’ in the menu.
  4. Choose which role you want to manage.
  5. In the following screen, in the ‘General Permissions’ section, toggle the button next to ‘Manage Roles’, which will turn off the feature for other members to make any further adjustments to the server roles.

From an Android phone

  1. Open the Discord app on your phone, and sign in if you’re not signed in already.
  2. On the upper-left side of the screen, click on the hamburger menu.
  3. This will open the list of servers, find and click the one you want to make changes to.
  4. Tap on the three dots to reach the options feature.
  5. Click on ‘Settings’, and find the ‘User Management’ section. Under ‘User Management’, click on ‘Roles’.
  6. Select the role you wish to edit, and disable the option by toggling the button next to it.

From an iPhone

  1. Open the Discord app on your phone, and sign in if you’re not signed in already.
  2. On the upper-left side of the screen, click on the hamburger menu.
  3. This will open the list of servers, find and click the one you want to make changes to.
  4. Tap on the three dots to reach the options feature.
  5. Click on ‘Settings’, and find the ‘User Management’ section. Under ‘User Management’, click on ‘Roles’.
  6. Select the role you wish to edit, and disable the option by toggling the button next to it.

Note: If your server has more than a couple of roles, you’ll need to open each individual one, and make adjustments manually, since you can’t turn the features on all of them at once.

After doing so, no one besides you will be able to access these features.

Members that have the role of an admin cannot delete, manage roles or add new ones that are higher than their own role.