Signal is currently one of the safest messaging networks on the market. This app is offering encrypted messaging, texts which only you and the person you’re texting can see. The company itself is unable to see none of the messages that are passing through.
However, even this type of protection is sometimes not enough, and completely deleting the messages is what users want to go for. Well, regardless if you’ve archived your messages previously and want to delete them now, or simply want to delete them completely, we will guide you through the process of doing exactly that.
Since Signal’s main purpose is safety of the users, there is no way for deleted messages to be retrieved, this is due to the fact that Signal uses specific encryption, and no third-party apps will have access to your chats. If you’re not sure whether you’ll need your chats in the future, the best solution would be to archive the chats.
Yes, Signal allows deleting a single message both from your side, or from the person you’re texting. To delete a message someone else sent, just find the message you need to delete, tap and hold, and tap on the trash icon. Select “Delete for Me”, and the message will no longer show in the conversation.
Yes, deleting a message you sent can be done both for you, and for everyone. Find the message you sent, tap and hold on it. In the upper part of your screen, select the trash bin. You can choose between “Delete for Me” and “Delete for Everyone”. The first option means only you won’t see the message anymore, and the second option means the other side won’t see your message anymore either.
After deleting a message for everyone in the chat, there will still be a field stating that “A message was unsent”. The text of the message will not be showing up, but this does not mean that the user hasn’t already read it from their notification bar.
Bonus: Check out where Signal stores photos and other media shared between users.
You might also find these articles interesting: