Upon activation of any Apple device, a free 5 GB storage space on iCloud's services is given. However, 5 GB is never enough, especially considering how many files, documents, photos, videos, and backups go through our devices on a daily basis.
Luckily, Apple allows users to share their iCloud storage while protecting their privacy. What this means is that once you share your storage on iCloud with a friend, partner, or family member, you nor them will be able to see each other's uploaded content. However, if for any reason you feel like your privacy might be invaded, you can always password-protect a folder in iCloud.
Since getting more storage on iCloud needs to be paid for, and Apple offers several different packages, you can always help out a friend in need and share yours if you have more than enough storage on your device.
This option is named 'Family Sharing', and you can find the step-by-step tutorial in the article below! Check it out to learn how to share iCloud storage.
Related: How to Fix: Uploading to iCloud Paused.
Before you start the process, you'll need to set up 'Family Sharing' feature first. When 'Family Sharing' gets activated, you can share a number of things - Apple Music, Apple TV, etc., but in this article, we'll only cover iCloud storage sharing.
The following steps apply to both iPhones and iPads.
Note: If your iCloud Storage plan is not 200GB or 2TB, you'll need to upgrade your storage in order to share your iCloud subscription.
In the following steps, we'll guide you through sharing iCloud storage with your family/friends.
You might also like: Fix: To Continue Using iCloud Confirm Your New Passcode.
Note: The same rules apply for sharing your iCloud storage from a MacBook - your subscription needs to be at least 200 GB or 2 TB.
After having added family members to the family group to your iCloud storage, you'll be labeled as the organizer. This means that you're the one that can monitor, change, and upgrade or downgrade the storage sharing.
Follow these steps:
Once Family Sharing gets activated, you can add family members, and share your storage from your iCloud Drive. This feature includes 50 GB, 200 GB, and 2 TB of storage.
In addition, features such as iCloud Private Relay, Hide My Email, and HomeKit Secure Video get activated.
When an iCloud+ subscription is shared, each member of the Family Sharing will only be able to access their own documents, photos, videos, and all other information. No member of the Family Sharing group will be able to access other users' data.
The Apple eco-system is so well-developed, that you can access any and everything at the tip of your finger. Using iCloud has many perks, one of which is to share your iCloud storage with friends and family.
In this article, we covered setting up sharing iCloud storage via iPhones and iPads, as well as MacBooks, and how to manage the Family Sharing feature.
You might also find these articles interesting: