How to Restrict an Account on Instagram?

Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Tanja Social Media / Instagram

3 min read

Did you know that Instagram has a restrict feature that allows users to choose who can and can’t comment on their Instagram posts?

The restrict option is frequently mistaken for the block option, but despite its name, it is less restrictive than the blocking option. When users restrict accounts they only limit who can and can’t comment on their posts without the restricted persons knowing it. In other words, restricted users will be able to see their comments on your posts, but others will not.

Those who are not familiar with this function will find this blog post helpful as it will explain how this works.

Why did Instagram add this feature?

Instagram added this feature as a form of protection for its users. If a user feels harassed by someone’s comments but doesn’t want to block the specific account entirely, they can use this function to stop the offensive comments from being visible to other accounts.

Additionally, the restricted option can hide your online status and the “seen” notification from the restricted accounts.

How to restrict an account on Instagram?

Restrict someone’s through messages:

  1. Tap on the Messenger icon in the top right corner
  2. Tap the chat with the person you want to restrict.
  3. Tap the person's name at the top of your chat.
  4. Tap the three dots in the top right corner
  5. Tap “Restrict” at the bottom, then tap “Restrict account” to confirm.

This action will cause the messages from the restricted accounts to go to the Message request. And if you are in a group chat with a restricted account, you will get a notification that this account is in this group.

Restrict someone’s through comments:

  1. Go to your post and tap View all comments.
  2. For iPhone users, swipe left over the comment, for Android users tap and hold the comment.
  3. Tap Restrict.

You can take other actions as well with Instagram comments. Learn how to edit, delete, pin and hide comments on Instagram.

How to unrestrict someone on Instagram?

Accounts can be restricted and unrestricted via Instagram settings, restricted person’s comments, messenger, or through the restricted person's profile.

Whenever a restricted account comments on your post, you will have a few options to choose from. The first is to click "see comment" to see the comment, as well as to approve the comment for everyone. A user can also choose to delete a comment entirely by clicking on the delete button.

In case you can't find the restricted Instagram account through your comments, you can always search the person's account and unrestrict them from there. Just search for their user name, tap the three dots, then tap on restrict, then on unrestrict.

To unrestirct an account from your profile tap on your profile picture in the bottom right corner, tap the hamburger menu, tap “Settings” and “Privacy”, scroll down to connections, and tap on “Restricted accounts”, tap continue, search for the restricted account and tap unrestrict.

Are you considering taking a break from Instagram? Learn how to temporarily deactivate your Instagram account without deleting it.