How To Remove A Device From Netflix

Written by Emilija - Reviewed by Ivana Entertainment / Netflix

3 min read

As one of the biggest movie streaming companies, Netflix seriously takes the reasonability of keeping users' accounts safe.

Since the Netflix accounts can be accessed from an unlimited number of devices but a maximum of four devices can be active at once, the company offers two features that enable users to manage the devices that accessed their account:

“Sign out from all devices” option and “Manage a list of registered download devices” option.

This means that if you have signed in from a laptop or tablet that you don’t usually use for downloading or watching TV shows, you can remove the device from inside the platform.

But, before we start we need to explain that even when you sign out or remove all the devices, users who have your email address and password will still be able to sign in to your account.

The only way to stop someone from accessing your account once and for all is by changing your password.

How to remove and sign out from all devices on Netflix?

Note: The deletion and signing out from all devices can be done from a web browser only. You can’t remove or sign out from all devices using the Netflix mobile app.

Remove download devices

  1. Go to the Netflix website and sign in to your Netflix account.
  2. In the upper right corner, click on the profile icon and select “Account”.
  3. Scroll down and click on “Manage download devices”.

Select 'Manage download devices'

  1. Click on the “remove device” button.

Sing out from all devices

  1. Go to the Netflix website and sign in to your Netflix account.
  2. In the upper right corner, click on the profile icon and select “Account”.
  3. Scroll down to the section “Sign out of all devices” and click on it.

Select “Sign out of all devices”

  1. Click “Sign out”.

This will sign out all connected devices from your Netflix account including the ones you usually sign in from.

How to change your Netflix password?

As we said earlier, the only way to completely restrict someone from accessing your Netflix account is by changing your password.

So, after signing out of all devices head back to the web browser and log in to your Netflix account.

  1. In the top right corner click on the profile icon and choose “Account”.
  2. From the account page choose “Change password”.

Click on 'Change password'

  1. Enter your old password and then type in your new password.

This way only the friends and family who have your new password will be able to access your account and enjoy the movies and TV Shows that the Netflix app offers.

If you are logged into Netflix on Roku, but want to log out for some reason, learn how you can do that on different Roku models and devices.