While deserving a place on someone’s list of close friends on Instagram can be a positive experience for some, for others might not be as much.
Close friends on Instagram is a feature that allows users to hand-pick followers who can see their Instagram stories. When users see a story with a green circle around it, it means that the user who posted the story has chosen them to be their close friends on Instagram.
The feature is handy for users who want to share a story only with a specific group of people. However, some users don’t want to be part of someone’s list of close friends for various reasons.
Sadly, Instagram doesn’t offer a feature that allows users to remove themselves from someone’s Instagram close friends list.
The easiest solution would be to mute the user. Muting someone on Instagram means you won’t see their stories or posts on your feed without unfollowing them or blocking them.
This will also make the stories they share with the people on the close friends list not visible to you.
As we mentioned, you can’t remove yourself from a close friends list on Instagram, but you can mute that user and stop seeing their stories and posts altogether.
Alternatively, users can unfollow the person, block them, or ask to remove them from the list of close friends.
Blocking would be the most restrictive action someone can take, since this way, users won’t be able to view or message your profile besides not being able to put you on their close friend’s list.
Another way of removing yourself from someone’s close friend's list would be to unfollow the person and remove them from your followers.
Unfollow Instagram users:
Remove people from your Followers list
Since Instagram doesn’t offer a native feature that allows users to remove themselves from someone's close friends' list, they can simply ask the person to remove them.
Perhaps it isn't the kindest gesture from your side, but it will hopefully get you removed from the list of close friends.
The social media giant added the ‘close friends’ option to allow users to share stories on Instagram with a specific group of people.
Sadly users can’t independently remove themselves from the close friend's list. As for now, we can only use some of the workarounds mentioned above.