How to Delete Peacock Account

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Tijana Streaming

5 min read
Key Points

To delete your Peacock profile:

  • For U.S. citizens - go to NBCUniversal’s Individual Rights Request Portal and fill in the form.
  • If you are living outside of the U.S. - send an email with your deletion request to [email protected].

Unlike other streaming platforms like Netflix, Hulu, Disney Plus or Showtime that immediately delete your account when you unsubscribe, deleting your account on Peacock is not so straightforward.

Peacock offers different subscription plans - premium and premium plus. What sets Peacock apart from other streaming platforms is that it also has a free plan that provides a wide selection of movies and TV shows that can be watched with or without closed captions.

While it's fairly easy to cancel your Peacock subscription, that doesn't apply to deleting a Peacock account - free or paid. This is because NBCUniversal assumes users would like to at least keep their free accounts.

But, you might want to delete your Peacock account if you have accounts on other streaming platforms and you don't need it.

No worries, though - it is possible to delete a Peacock account. Keep reading to learn how to do it.

How to delete a Peacock account

Although deleting a Peacock account is possible, it's not like deleting an account on other streaming platforms where you can cancel your subscription and reactivate it if you want later.

Users need to fully delete their Peacock account, including all personal data related to the account.

Peacock's Help page offers some limited information, stating that to delete a profile on Peacock, users need to request NBCUniversal to delete their personal information from its servers. Basically, deleting a free Peacock subscription also involves deleting a Peacock profile completely.

How to delete a Peacock account

While the process is not unusual, it's a bit complicated if you just want to delete a free Peacock profile. Also, the steps for deleting are buried in the company's official privacy policy page filled with legal jargon, which might be confusing for some users.

To proceed to delete your Peacock account, go to their Privacy Page link. On this page, besides reading a lot of legal stuff about your rights to your digital information, you can scroll down and find the deletion links.

  1. If you are a U.S. resident, you can request to delete your profile on the deletion request link, which leads you to NBCUniversal’s Individual Rights Request Portal. On this page, you need to fill in a form to request your Peacock account be deleted or ask the company to provide the personal information that it has on file.
    1. Under the 'I am making this request to' section, choose the 'Delete My Information' button.
    2. In the 'Select Applicable Brand(s)' drop-down menu, select 'Peacock'.
    3. Enter your first and last name, email address and the state you reside in.
    4. Check the box next to I'm not a robot, and then click the 'Submit' button.

Form for submitting a request for Peacock account deletion

  1. If you are outside of the U.S., you can email your deletion request to [email protected] NBCUniversal asks you to include “My Rights” in the subject line and provide a clear explanation of which right you are exercising (in your case - the right to delete information and your country of residence in the body of the email.

As for how much time it takes to delete your account completely, neither Peacock nor NBCUniversal states how long it takes to receive a response after submitting your request or for your account to be deleted. You should receive an email with a confirmation that your account has been deleted after several weeks or a month.

What deleting an account on Peacock means

After you've successfully deleted your Peacock account, it not only deactivates your subscription but also deletes all your personal information NBCU has on file for you.

This means that you will likely need to provide the same information again if you want to resubscribe to Peacock or use Peacock TV in the future.

Additionally, there is no guarantee that your account will be deleted immediately, or deleted at all, for that matter. Submitting a request for deleting your account informs Peacock that the consumer wants to have their information deleted.

So if your account will be permanently deleted remains in the hands of NBCUniversal. They are expected to comply with the local law to honor consumers' requests and most likely will comply with requests outside of the U.S. However, the process is not as simple as just clicking on 'Delete' yourself and knowing for sure that your Peacock account has been definitely deleted.

You might also find these articles interesting: