How to Delete or Temporarily Hide Your YouTube Account

Written by Tanja - Reviewed by Ivana Streaming / YouTube

3 min read

If you’re still looking for ways on how to delete or temporarily hide your Youtube channel, you’ve found the right spot. It really might seem like it’s rocket science to do it, but you’ll be surprised at how easy and fast it can be done.

Depending on the option you choose, your subscribers will not be able to watch your Youtube content and all community posts, comments, and replies will be permanently deleted or temporarily hidden.

So whether you decide to delete your Youtube channel or temporarily hide it, these are the steps to follow:

How to delete your Youtube channel

  1. First, you need to sign in to your YouTube channel.
  2. From the left sidebar, choose and click on ‘Settings’.
  3. Select 'Channel' and then click on ‘Advanced Settings’.
  4. Then click on ‘Remove YouTube Content’. You may be asked to re-enter your sign-in details.
  5. Select ‘I want to permanently delete my content’.
  6. Click on the boxes to confirm you want to delete your channel.
  7. Finally, select ‘Delete my content’.

Right after you delete your Youtube Channel, all data that is related to that channel, will still be amongst aggregate reports, however, it will not be attributed to your channel. Also, your channel’s URL and name will be no longer seeable and detected in YouTube Analytics.

How to temporarily hide your Youtube channel

If you want to temporarily hide your YouTube channel, that can be arranged as well and the process is somewhat similar to the above mentioned. Besides, you can always re-enable it at any time you please.

For this notion, it is good to know that once you hide your YouTube account, your channel name, videos, likes, subscriptions, and subscribers will become private. In spite of that, all of your replies and comments will be gone for good.

Take these steps to learn how to temporarily hide your YouTube channel:

  1. If you are using a desktop, sign in to the YouTube channel you want to hide.
  2. Head to your ‘Advanced Account Settings’.
  3. At the bottom of the page, choose ‘Delete channel’. There is no need for panic. because you will be given the options to delete or hide your channel.
  4. Next, you need to re-enter your login details.
  5. Choose ‘I want to hide my channel’.
  6. Select the boxes to confirm what will be hidden on your channel.
  7. Select ‘Hide my channel’.

Explore how to change your profile picture on Youtube.