How to Delete Coinbase Account

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Emilija Finance

4 min read

If you are into cryptocurrency, you are probably familiar with Coinbase - the online platform for securely buying, selling, transferring and storing cryptocurrencies.

However, the fact is there are many other crypto exchanges out there that offer a better investing and buying experience. So it’s not strange to see that many people are deleting their Coinbase accounts.

If you are one of those people who don’t want to use Coinbase any longer to store your cryptocurrency, or if you simply wish to transfer your cryptocurrency holdings to another wallet, you are at the right place.

In the guide below, we’ll explain the steps to safely deleting your Coinbase account.

Important things to know before deleting your Coinbase account

  1. Standard Coinbase account vs. Coinbase Pro account

This is an important remark before we go on to the steps of deleting your account - the differences and similarities between a Coinbase and a Coinbase Pro account, especially if you have both accounts.

Keep in mind that both Coinbase and Coinbase Pro share most of your account’s settings. And while Coinbase.com and Coinbase Pro are separate accounts, the Pro one shares a lot of your profile information and settings.

Therefore, if you delete your Coinbase account, your Coinbase Pro account will also be deleted.

  1. Think carefully before you delete your Coinbase account

In general, deleting your Coinbase account is not recommended because it’s permanent and irreversible. If you notice any suspicious activity or if you just don’t want to use it anymore, it’s better to disable it because it’s temporary and you can reactivate it later.

You can also contact Coinbase support to help you with disabling your account if you notice any suspicious activity with it.

  1. Your balance must be zero before you delete your account

You need to withdraw your money from Coinbase, transfer it to an external wallet or send the balance you have left to another Coinbase user.

Another crucial tip if you have any altcoins, it’s best to convert them into Bitcoin. To do this, click on the ‘Trade’ button you can find on any page on Coinbase. Next, tap on the ‘Convert’ tab and convert all the currencies that are not Bitcoin into Bitcoin.

Additionally, in order to withdraw your Bitcoins from Coinbase, you need to make sure you have a Bitcoin address set up that will serve as an unhackable bank vault.

One last thing to remember is that when you click the “Send” button to withdraw Bitcoin from the balance page, a small amount of Bitcoin will remain, which is called “dust”. Below, we’ll explain how to withdraw your remaining Bitcoins at the final step of closing your account.

If you don’t want to withdraw or trade with your Bitcoin balance, you can donate your funds to GiveCrypto.org, a non-profit organization that helps distribute the crypto to people who live in poverty.

Steps to deleting your Coinbase account

To withdraw the remaining Bitcoins and close your Coinbase account:

  1. Log into your Coinbase account on a desktop or mobile browser.
  2. Click on the menu icon in the top-right corner of the screen.
  3. Scroll down and click on ‘Settings’.
  4. If you are using a mobile, tap on the drop-down menu next to the Profile tab, then tap on ‘Activity’. If you are using a desktop, click on the Activity tab. Both ways will take you to the Activity page.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom and click or tap on ‘Close Account’.
  6. Enter your password in the pop-up box and click the ‘Close Account’ button.

On the pop-up window, you will also see a message explaining that you will be able to withdraw all your funds before permanently closing your account.

In case you also have a Cash App account and want to get rid of it too, learn how to delete your Cash App securely.