Cash App is a really convenient app for transferring money to your friends and family with just a few clicks, much the same as Venmo.
Cash App also makes it really easy to split the bill with friends and acquaintances allowing you to split any sum equally and everyone to pay their share.
However, if you want to delete the app because you want to transfer to another similar app or you don’t use it anymore, you can’t just uninstall it from your phone screen like any other app.
Since it’s linked to your bank account, if you want to delete the Cash App, you first need to permanently delete your account before you delete the app.
Here’s how you can delete your Cash App account from iPhone, Android, Tablet or PC.
Quick Note: If you delete your account, you can create another with the same email address, phone number and bank account. However, this will not restore the payment history from your deleted account.
Before you delete your account, transfer all your money to your bank account. To do that:
Quick Note: If you have any stocks or bitcoin on your Cash App, you need to sell them before you can delete your account.
Now that you have your money safely stored in your bank account and have withdrawn your Cash App balance, here is how to delete your Cash App account:
After closing your account, you can delete your app from your smartphone or tablet.
Important: Make sure you have transferred all your money to your linked bank account or withdrawn all your funds before proceeding to delete your account.
If you want to delete an account for a person that has passed away, the process is the same if you know their Cash App password. If you don’t, contact Cash App’s customer care to help you close the person’s account.
When you contact customer care, you will need to have the bank account and other details of the person to prove your claim.
You might also find these articles interesting: