How to Add Profile on Netflix and Share Account Without Giving Password

Written by Tanja - Reviewed by Ivana Entertainment / Netflix

5 min read

When it comes to movie-watching and tv shows, it seems that streaming services such as Amazon Prime Video and Netflix just keep pushing past physical boundaries and never stop surprising us.

You probably know this already, but the streaming service app Netflix offers users to have up to five profiles on one account and therefore one’s person’s preferences don’t have to mess with another’s recommendations.

In fact, this is when all users that are registered under the same account can watch different movies and documentaries at different times and on different devices.

You may want to add a restricted access profile for your child or perhaps if you already have more than one profile of your own, then you can add that new profile right after you log in from the same screen you would actually select your profile in.

If you don’t have more than one profile, or if you are already logged into your account, you can still add a new profile. The steps to follow are beyond simple so keep reading to find out how.

How to add new profile on Netflix

  1. Once you are on the Netflix home screen, open the account menu.
  2. If you are using a desktop, click your icon which is in the top right corner.
  3. If you are on your smartphone device, tap the three horizontal lines at the bottom right corner of the screen. Then open the menu.
  4. Once you open the menu, choose Manage Profiles.
  5. Under the listed profile usernames, click Add Profile.
  6. Type in the name of the profile and if it is meant for a child, tap/click the Kidbox and press save.

How to share your Netflix account without giving a password

Since we already mentioned that Netflix allows the creation of five profiles total, let’s find out the steps of how you can share your Netflix profile and not give your password. Now, this is called the safe method because not everyone is comfortable with password sharing, not even to friends and family, right?

Follow the steps below to learn how to do so. They are meant for the Recipient (the person using the shared account).

  1. Go to the Chrome store and install the extension Share Account.
  2. Click on the Share Account
  3. Choose Receiver Account
  4. You`ll see a code appear on the screen. Copy the code.
  5. Send the code to the Recipient/person to whom you`ll give access to your Netflix account.
  6. Once you have given the code, that person will send back an encrypted text and paste that text in the textbox Share Result
  7. Next, click on Receive
  8. Right after you click in receive, you will be able to get into the Netflix account that is shared with you.

Of course, there are also a few and kind of similar steps that the account owner (real owner) needs to know and follow:

  1. Go to the Chrome store and install the extension Share Account there.
  2. Navigate to the Netflix page.
  3. Click on Share Account
  4. Paste the code that the receiver person sent.
  5. As an inclusion, there is the option to select a Timeout period if you want to time limit the sharing period.
  6. Then click on Share.
  7. You`ll see an encrypted text being displayed. Copy that encrypted text and send it to the recipient.
  8. Quick info: You can share your Netflix account with anyone and anywhere, provided Netflix is available in the country where that person resides.

You are all set now to watch Netflix and share it with your family members or whoever you like. Once you follow the whole process, your account username and password will stay well-guarded and under your control.