How to Add People to a Group Text on iPhone

Written by Tijana - Reviewed by Tanja Gadgets / Apple iPhone

5 min read

Apple’s instant messaging tool is currently among the best ones on the market. The feature is widely used, by nearly all Apple users.

One of the best features within the iMessages app is that users are able to create group conversations, making it really easy to stay in touch with a group of friends, or all family members.

Note that there is a difference between a Group iMessages and Group Messages.

In order for the iMessaging group text to be working, all recipients need to be iOS users, while regular Group Messages can include Android users as well.

There are evident pointers whether you’re texting an Apple user or an Android user - for Apple users the text bubbles are blue, while for Android users the text bubbles are green.

How can I create a group text on my iPhone?

Creating a group text on iPhone is extremely simple, we’ve created a detailed step-by-step guide to lead you through the process:

  1. On your iPhone, open the Messages app. If a conversation is already open, go back to the home screen by tapping on the arrow in the upper-left corner, or simply swipe left on the screen.
  2. On the home screen, tap on the ‘New Message’ icon in the top right corner - the icon looks like a notebook with a pen next to it.

iPhone messages

  1. In the ‘To’: section, type in the contact names of the users you want to include in the group text.
  2. You can also tap on the ‘+’ icon if you want to browse through your Contacts list, instead of typing in the names manually.
  3. Start typing in the message in the lower empty field once you’ve selected all contacts you want to add.

iPhone group text messages

When sending the message to the group, if some users are Android users, the message will be green and, and sent as a regular SMS.

If all users are iOS users, the message you sent will be blue, and it will be sent as an iMessage, using the Internet.

An additional note, if some users are currently using an older iOS system, or have an Android device, not all emojis or features like GIFs and photos will be showing up as they do for you.

Check out also how to schedule messages on iPhone.

How do I remove users from the group chat?

The process of removing someone from a group text message, the process is more or less the similar as the one when adding them to the list:

  1. On your iPhone, open the Messages app.
  2. If a conversation is already open, go back to the home screen by tapping on the arrow in the upper-left corner, or simply swipe left on the screen.
  3. Look up the conversation you want to remove users from, and click on it.
  4. Click on the ‘i’ icon in the upper right corner, under the names of the group members, or the group name.
  5. In the ‘Details’ section, you will see the list of names that are members of the group. On the name, swipe left to see the ‘Remove’ red button.

How do I add more users to the group chat?

  1. On your iPhone, open the Messages app.
  2. If a conversation is already open, go back to the home screen by tapping on the arrow in the upper-left corner, or simply swipe left on the screen.
  3. Look up the conversation you want to add users to, and click on it.
  4. Click on the ‘i’ icon in the upper right corner, under the names of the group members, or the group name.
  5. Click on ‘Add Contacts’.
  6. In the ‘Add’ field, start typing in the name of the user you want to add.
  7. Click ‘Finish’ after you’re done selecting users to add.

How do I leave a group conversation?

  1. On your iPhone, open the Messages app.
  2. If a conversation is already open, go back to the home screen by tapping on the arrow in the upper-left corner, or simply swipe left on the screen.
  3. Look up the conversation you want to leave, and click on it.
  4. Click on the ‘i’ icon in the upper right corner, under the names of the group members, or the group name.
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the section, and click on ‘Leave Conversation’.