The “User not found” message might come as a surprise from an Instagram account you’ve previously engaged with.
Did this person block me? Or did they delete or deactivate their account?
Many questions may arouse the moment you are looking at someone’s “nonexistent” account. So, how can you tell the difference between a deactivated account and an account that has blocked you? There are a few steps you can take to resolve the mystery and understand the differences between these two cases.
The biggest difference between a deactivated account from the account that has blocked you is that deactivated accounts still appear in the suggestion list after you search for them. The accounts that have blocked you on Instagram won’t appear in your search list. However, if the user has decided on a more permanent solution and deleted their account then the account will disappear from the search suggestion after 30 days have passed.
If you are suspicious that a person might have blocked you then you can always search for their username via browser. The only issue with this step is that private profiles might not come up in Google’s SERP (search engine result page). So, if you are sure that the people you are searching for have public profiles then this approach can help you see if they still have an active Instagram account. If the account shows up and you are able to view their profile, unfortunately, this person has blocked you.
Active accounts whether they are private or public will still show up in the search results of people who haven’t been blocked. That being said, users who suspect they have been blocked can create a new profile and search for other users through the new profile. If the user pops up in the search list but there is a message that says “no post yet” or “user not found”, this is a confirmation that the user has temporarily disabled its account.
Another thing to watch out for is the number of followers and posts someone has on their Instagram profile. If the account says “no posts yet”, but there is a visible number of posts, that is a sign that the user has blocked you.
Also, If you have ever engaged with a person in DMs that person might show up as an “Instagrammer” once they have deactivated or deleted their Instagram account. However, if a user has blocked you they will show up under the name of “user” in your DMs.
Simply, you won’t be able to see any posts, comments, or likes from the person who has blocked you. Furthermore, you can send messages but Instagram won’t deliver them to the person you are messaging. Your messaging won’t be delivered even after the person who has blocked you change their mind later and unblock you.
You might also find these articles interesting: