Can You See When Someone Checks Your Location on Snapchat

Written by Ivana - Reviewed by Tanja Social Media / Snapchat

6 min read

Snap Map is a great Snapchat feature that lets you see your friends’ locations and share your location with them.

When you go to a location, your Bitmoji avatar moves on the Snap Map as well, and your followers know your whereabouts.

Of course, sometimes you want to keep your location private. And luckily, Snapchat allows you to disable sharing your location. But is there a way to see when someone checks your location on Snapchat?

Or perhaps you are on the other side, and wondering if people can see when you view their Snapchat map.

No matter on which side of the spectrum you are, keep reading to find out if you can and how to tell if a person has viewed your location on Snapchat.

Snapchat map_Google Play

Can you tell if someone checks your location on Snapchat?

First and foremost, you have to have your Snap Map enabled for your entire friends list so they can check where you are.

However, even if you have your Snap Map enabled, unfortunately, Snapchat doesn’t have a feature that lets you know if a person sees your location on the Snap Map. You cannot view the list of people who have viewed your location. What’s more, Snapchat doesn’t notify you when someone checks your location.

The option to see the list of people who viewed your location was available in 2018, but it was removed because users complained that their privacy was being violated. So even though Snap Map is a great way to see if any of your friends are close by, the option to see when someone checked your location could give a really wrong impression. This is especially if you accidentally clicked on someone’s Bitmoji when you went through your Snap Map.

Do people get notified when you view their location?

But what if you are checking someone else’s notification; Will they get notified?

The answer is no - people will not get notified if you view their location. Unlike Snapchat sending a notification to users if someone takes a screenshot of their stories, nor will you get notified nor see the people who have viewed your direct location, nor will they get a notification if you tap on their location.

How to see you viewed your Travel card on Snapchat

Snapchat also has a feature that shows when someone travels from one location to another. You can view the Travel Feature for someone by selecting the travel card from the bottom of the display, which is presented a dotted line from the original place to the person’s new location.

The person whose travel card you have viewed will not get notified directly. However, keep in mind, Snapchat treats your movements like a Story. This means that you’re able to see who viewed your specific activity on the map.

So, although you can’t see who saw your location on the Snap Map, you can view who has looked at your recent travels.

Bonus: Learn how to access Snapchat Story Studio to create more advanced and engaging video content for Snapchat.

Snapchat Bitmoji Map

How to tell if people viewed your location when they check out your Snapchat status

However, there is a workaround that can help you find out if someone from your followers has checked out your location - and that is if they check your Snapchat status.

The only way you can tell if someone has seen where you're located is if you post a Snap Map status with your location and they click on it.

For those not so familiar, a Snap Map "status" is similar to creating a Snapchat story that's accessible from the map.

So if you are at a certain location or venue and you want to share it with your Snapchat friends, you can post a status and attach it to your Snapchat Bitmoji, which ties any photos or clips you upload to that location.

So this is the only way you can see if someone checks your location on Snap Chat - if you post a Snap Map status with your location and they click on it.

How to control you sees your location on Snapchat

Although you can share your location on Snapchat with your friends, the app also allows you to adjust the privacy settings on who can see your location.

You can choose to share your location with:

  • My Friends: People who you have declared as your friends can see your movements with this setting.
  • My Friends, Except…: This option allows you to share your location with your entire friends list, except selected individuals with whom you don’t want to share it.
  • Only These Friends …: This option lets you choose which friends you want to share your location with.

Snapchat location settings

You can also choose to turn on the Ghost Mode and hide your location from all your friends.

To adjust the location sharing settings:

  1. Tap the “Map” symbol in the bottom left of the screen.
  2. Then, tap the “Settings” symbol in the top right corner of the screen. This is where you’ll find the location sharing settings and adjust them.

If you are thinking about taking a break from Snapchat, learn how to back up all of your Snapchat data before you delete your account.

Bonus: Check out how to hide your Snap Score.